top of page


Established on January 6, 1966, Union County Community Action, Inc. (UCCA) is a private, non-profit corporation that provides individuals and families with the resources necessary to achieve economic self-sufficiency. UCCA serves the residents of Union, Anson, and Richmond counties by operating Head Start (HS), Early Head Start (EHS), NC Pre-K, and the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG). Our agency is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of fifteen members who provide equal representation of the public, private, and low-income sectors of Union County. County Commissioners (or appointed delegates) represent the public sector, local organizations recommend the private-sector representatives, and representatives from low-income areas are selected at community meetings.

The UCCA Board of Directors meets on the third Monday of each month other than December, January, July, and August. Meetings are held at the UCCA Administrative Offices at 1401-H West Roosevelt Blvd., Monroe, NC 28110. All UCCA Board meetings are open to the public. 

*Please note that, due to COVID-19, all UCCA Board meetings are currently conducted virtually. To participate in a virtual Board meeting, please send an email with your contact information to

DeForrest Named Board Chair of Union County Community Action, Inc. 

Union County Community Action, Inc. is pleased to announce that Dr. Matthew M. DeForrest has been elected as Chair of its Board of Directors, filling the role recently held by Mr. David Broome, Esq. Ms. Deborah Byrum will continue in her role of Board Vice Chair, Neutricia Rushing will continue as Board Secretary, and Mr. Broome will assume the role of Treasurer.

“I am grateful for the leadership David Broome has provided UCCA and am glad he will remain on the Executive Committee as I transition into this role,” DeForrest said. “Almost as grateful as I am for the staff of UCCA, ably lead by Executive Director Jenny McGuirt, whose professionalism and dedication have made the Agency a model of excellence.”

Union County Community Action, Inc. (UCCA) was established on January 6th, 1966, as a private, non-profit corporation. UCCA’s mission is to provide pathways for individuals, families, and children to achieve economic self-sufficiency and personal growth by providing services, advocacy, and strengthening our community partnerships. Headquartered in Union County North Carolina, UCCA provides Earyl Head Start, Head Start, NC Pre-K, and the Child and Adult Food Care Programs in Union, Anson, and Richmond Counties. The Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) Program provides educational, career development, and support services to stabilize incomes and housing for individuals and families in Union County.

Dr. Matthew DeForrest is Interim Director of the Edward E. Crutchfield Center for Integrated Studies in the college of Liberal Arts and Professor of English at Johnson C. Smith University (JCSU). He is a long serving member of the UCCA Board of Directors. He is one of the Board members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. He is a resident of Monroe, NC. 

2023 Board of Directors Meetings

January, 2023 – No Meeting

February 20, 2023 – Regular Meeting

March 20, 2023 – Regular Meeting

April 17, 2023 – Regular Meeting

May 15, 2023 – Regular Meeting

June 19, 2023 – Regular Meeting

July, 2023 – No Meeting

August, 2023 – No Meeting

September 18, 2023 – No Meeting

October 16, 2023 - Annual Meeting

November 20, 2023 – Regular Meeting

December, 2023 – No Meeting

bottom of page